When you or someone you love is diagnosed with a soy allergy, it becomes stressful finding items to eat that will not make you sick or worse, kill you.
Facts about Soy
The Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA) does not require a listing of foods that contain refined soy oil to have a May Contain Soy on the label. (Source: Number 15)
Soybean farming began in 1100 BCE in China and Asia. In Japan and China, the majority consume no more than 10 grams of soy a day, and usually fermented.
Most of the soy crops in the U.S. is produced soybean oil, initially extracted with hexane, a gas used in glues for shoes, leather products, and roofing. As a degreaser, and in textile manufacturing.
Hexane is also used in chromatography as a non-polar solvent. As of this writing, the FDA has a lack of regulation for this contaminant. YUM! Watch the video for more.
Words that mean soy
HSP - Hydrolyzed Soy Protein
Kyodofu (free-dried tofu)
Monoglycerides and Diglycerides
MSG (monosodium glutamate)
Okara (soy pulp)
Anything with the word soy on it
Soya and Soya Flour
TSF (Textured Soy Flour)
TSP (Textured Soy Protein)
TVP (Textured Vegetable Protein)
Hidden Soy Word List
If the ingredients listed here are found on the food label, it has or may have soy in it, just not listed as soy. Because some of these items like Xanthan Gum can be made of another substance like wheat, it is always a good practice to contact the manufacturer when in doubt.
Alkyd or Alkyl
Citric Acid (can be made from either soy, corn, wheat, dairy or Xanthan gum)
HPP - Hydrolyzed plant protein
HVP Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein
Linseed Oil (Often used with soy)
PEG (Polyethylene Glycol)
Protein or Protein extender
Quaternary or Quaternium
S500 (often used in bread and at bakeries)
Vitamin E also known as Tocopherols
Xanthan Gum (Can be made from corn, wheat or soy, if you are Paleo, Xanthan Gum is a no-no, but even if you are not, why risk it?)
Common foods with soy
Read your labels, as there are some of these mentioned products that do not contain soy. Stay tuned for future reports!
Baked goods and baking mixes
Brominated Vegetable Oil
Carob (while most carob is made with carob flour and is dairy-free, I have noticed a trend that a lot of carob manufacturers are using soy flour, soy lecithin, and soy oil in their carob. Read the labels!)
Chicken that is in chicken broth
Deli meats (Look for HSP also known as hydrolyzed soy protein)
Energy Bars (most contain soy protein isolate and soy lecithin)
Hamburger meat and buns, particularly at fast food places. Most include soy flour in their buns and meat as an extender.
Some vegan cheeses and other vegan products
Peanut and nut butter (Sometimes you will see soy protein listed on the label.
Many protein powders, look for soy protein powder on the label
The Soy Report Posts
Restaurants and Soy
Everyday Food Products and Soy
Do you have a soy allergy? Let me know how you have changed your relationship with food in the comments below.
Pin it for later